PMLE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

PMLE Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • Google Cloud does not publish a PMLE pass rate in the sources reviewed, so any precise figure you see should be treated skeptically.
  • The exam is 50-60 multiple-choice and multiple-select questions in two hours, scored pass/fail across the whole exam.
  • Scaling prototypes into ML models (~21%) and Serving and scaling models (~20%) are the two heaviest domains.
  • Paid retakes allow four attempts in two years, with waits of 14, 60, and 365 days after successive failures.

What the Data Actually Shows About the PMLE Pass Rate

Search for the Professional Machine Learning Engineer pass rate and you will find confident-sounding percentages on forums, video comments, and aggregator sites. Here is the honest finding after reviewing the official sources: Google Cloud does not publish a pass rate for this exam in the materials we reviewed (the certification page, the exam guide, and the support articles on results and retakes). Anyone quoting a specific number is either relying on unverifiable anecdote or guessing.

That is not a dead end. What the official documentation does publish, namely the exam format, the section weights, the result-reporting mechanics, and the retake policy, tells you a great deal about how to think about your own odds. This article walks through what is actually known, what is not, and how to convert that into a realistic readiness plan. For a broader sense of difficulty from a candidate's perspective, see our guide on how hard the PMLE exam is.

A note on numbers: This article deliberately contains no pass-rate percentage. Where official sources are silent, we say so rather than fill the gap with a plausible-looking statistic. If you want a number to anchor your preparation, anchor to the published domain weights and your own practice-test results instead.

Why a Single Pass Rate Is Hard to Pin Down

Even if a pass rate existed, a single headline figure would be a weak guide for any individual candidate. Several features of the PMLE credential make aggregate statistics misleading.

The candidate pool is self-selected and uneven

There is no degree, credential, mandatory training, or professional-experience prerequisite. The main certification page recommends three-plus years of industry experience including at least one year designing and managing Google Cloud solutions, but these are recommendations rather than admission requirements. A pool that mixes seasoned ML platform engineers with first-time cloud learners cannot be summarized by one average. Our article on PMLE requirements and eligibility covers the distinction in detail.

The exam has changed recently

The current exam guide is dated June 1, 2026 and uses Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform terminology. It covers updated generative-AI security and evaluation topics, including Model Armor and LLM-as-a-judge. The testing provider also changed: Kryterion's last testing date was February 22, 2026, and Pearson VUE testing began March 2, 2026. Any historical pass-rate claim predating these changes describes a materially different exam experience.

The scored and unscored split is undisclosed

The exam has 50-60 questions, but Google does not disclose how many are scored versus unscored. The range is not a fixed question count, so even the denominator behind any individual's result is opaque. That opacity is one more reason to distrust precise third-party statistics.

How PMLE Results Are Reported

Understanding the reporting mechanics clarifies what "passing" means and what data you can extract from an attempt.

  • Pass/fail on the whole exam. There are no separate domain passes. You cannot pass Domain 4 and fail Domain 5; the result is a single outcome across all sections.
  • Provisional result is immediate. You see a provisional outcome right after the exam.
  • Official confirmation takes time. It normally arrives in 7-10 days.
  • Section feedback after a failure. Unsuccessful standard-exam candidates can obtain section feedback, with beta and renewal exclusions noted by Google.

Because the result is whole-exam pass/fail, strong performance in one area can offset weakness in another, but that is a risk to manage rather than a strategy to rely on. For the scoring question specifically, our breakdown of the PMLE passing score explains what is and is not disclosed.

Why section feedback matters: If you fail, the section-level feedback is the closest thing to personalized pass-rate data you will ever receive. It tells you where your preparation diverged from the exam's expectations, which is far more actionable than any population statistic.

What the Exam Structure Tells You About Difficulty

Without a published pass rate, the exam's structure is the best available evidence about what you are up against.

FeaturePMLE DetailWhat It Implies
Format50-60 multiple-choice and multiple-select questionsMultiple-select items punish partial understanding
TimeTwo hoursRoughly two minutes per question at the upper end; scenario reading consumes time
CodingNo direct coding assessmentPython and SQL proficiency still helps you interpret code-snippet questions
DeliveryPearson VUE center or OnVUE remoteRemote delivery has strict identity, workspace, and camera rules
Reference materialsClosed book; no notes, phones, or AI assistanceRecall of service capabilities and trade-offs is required
LanguagesEnglish and JapaneseChoose the language you reason in most comfortably

Two features deserve emphasis. First, the exam does not include a hands-on coding task, but the guidance on Python and SQL proficiency exists precisely because some questions present code snippets you must interpret. Candidates who treat "no coding assessment" as "no code reading" are surprised. Second, the closed-book, no-breaks remote environment means that stamina and pacing are part of the challenge, not just knowledge.

Domain Weights as a Proxy for Risk

The exam guide publishes approximate weights for six sections. These are official examination sections, not a preparation curriculum, and the weights are approximate: they sum to 101% by arithmetic, and we preserve them as published without normalizing. They also do not translate into exact question counts. Our complete guide to all six PMLE content areas goes deeper on each; here is how they bear on risk.

Domain 3: Scaling prototypes into ML models (~21%)

The largest section. This is where candidates who have only trained models in notebooks tend to feel the gap between experimentation and production-grade training.

  • Moving from prototype code to scalable, repeatable training
  • Choosing training approaches and infrastructure appropriate to model and data size
  • Reasoning about trade-offs rather than recalling single facts

Domain 4: Serving and scaling models (~20%)

The second-largest section. Together with Domain 3, it accounts for roughly two-fifths of the exam by published weight.

  • Online versus batch prediction trade-offs
  • Scaling inference to meet latency and throughput needs
  • Operational considerations for deployed models

Domain 5: Automating and orchestrating ML pipelines (~18%)

Pipeline questions reward candidates who have built repeatable workflows rather than one-off scripts.

  • Orchestrating end-to-end workflows
  • Automating retraining and validation steps

Domain 2: Collaborating within and across teams to manage data and models (~16%)

A mid-weight section centered on data and model management across team boundaries.

Domain 1: Architecting low-code AI solutions (~13%) and Domain 6: Monitoring AI solutions (~13%)

The two lightest sections by weight, but not safe to skip. Monitoring now sits alongside updated generative-AI evaluation and security material, including Model Armor and LLM-as-a-judge, which newer candidates sometimes under-prepare.

The takeaway for risk: a candidate who neglects the two heavy domains has exposed roughly two-fifths of the exam, while a candidate who neglects the two light domains has exposed roughly a quarter. Neither is a good plan, but the asymmetry should shape where your marginal hour goes.

Retake Rules Shape Your Strategy

The retake policy is where "pass rate" becomes personally relevant, because it defines the cost of a miss. Paid retakes are limited to a maximum of four attempts in two years, with waits of 14, 60, and 365 days after successive failures, regardless of language or delivery method.

AfterWait Before Next Attempt
First failure14 days
Second failure60 days
Third failure365 days

Each attempt costs $200 USD plus applicable tax, with no member or non-member distinction. See the PMLE certification cost breakdown for the full picture, including renewal pricing. The practical implication: the escalating waits mean a casual "try it and see" first attempt is a poor use of your retake budget. A fast second try is available after 14 days, but a third failure locks you out for a year.

Key Takeaway

Treat your first attempt as the one that counts. Use the 14-day window after a failure to target the weak sections identified in your section feedback, not to repeat the same preparation.

Readiness Signals That Beat Any Statistic

Since no reliable population figure exists, replace it with personal evidence. Useful signals include:

  • Domain-level fluency. You can explain, without notes, why you would choose one serving or training approach over another for a given scenario.
  • Code-snippet comfort. You can read short Python and SQL snippets and spot what they do or what is wrong with them.
  • Consistent practice results. Your scores on timed, scenario-style practice questions are stable across several sessions, not a single good day. Our PMLE practice tests are built for exactly this kind of repeated, timed measurement.
  • Multiple-select discipline. You are not just identifying one correct answer but evaluating every option independently.
  • Awareness of recent changes. You have covered Model Armor, LLM-as-a-judge, and the current Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform terminology.

A caution about the official sample questions

Google provides a sample-questions form, but sample performance does not predict exam outcome or establish topic coverage. Use it to get a feel for question style, not as a pass/fail forecast. For a structured preparation approach, see our PMLE study guide, and keep our one-page cheat sheet handy for final review.

A Domain-Ordered Preparation Schedule

If you want a schedule driven by the published weights rather than generic habit, front-load the heavy domains while you have the most time to practice them, and reserve the final stretch for integration and timed practice.

Weeks 1-2

Domain 3 and Domain 4 foundations

  • Scaling prototypes into ML models: training at scale and infrastructure choices
  • Serving and scaling models: online versus batch and latency trade-offs
Week 3

Domain 5 and Domain 2

  • Automating and orchestrating ML pipelines end to end
  • Collaborating across teams to manage data and models
Week 4

Domain 1, Domain 6, and generative-AI updates

  • Low-code AI solution architecture
  • Monitoring AI solutions, including Model Armor and LLM-as-a-judge
Final days

Timed integration

  • Full-length timed sets mirroring the two-hour format
  • Review weak sections; rehearse remote check-in rules if using OnVUE

Adjust the pacing to your experience. Candidates with production ML-platform backgrounds may compress the first weeks; those newer to Google Cloud may need longer. Whether the credential justifies the effort is a separate question we address in our ROI analysis, and the scheduling mechanics are covered in our guide to PMLE exam dates and scheduling.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the PMLE pass rate?

Google Cloud does not publish a pass rate for the Professional Machine Learning Engineer exam in the official sources reviewed. Treat any specific percentage from an unofficial source with caution, and focus on your own practice results and section-level readiness.

Do I pass or fail each domain separately?

No. Results are pass/fail across the whole exam, not separate domain passes. If you do not pass, standard-exam candidates can obtain section feedback to see where to improve.

How many times can I retake the exam?

Paid retakes allow a maximum of four attempts in two years, with 14, 60, and 365-day waits after successive failures. Each attempt is $200 USD plus applicable tax.

How quickly do I learn if I passed?

A provisional result appears immediately after the exam. Official confirmation normally takes 7-10 days.

Does the exam include hands-on coding?

There is no direct coding assessment. However, minimum Python and SQL proficiency helps you interpret code-snippet questions, so you should be comfortable reading both.

Ready to pass your PMLE exam?

Put this into practice with free PMLE questions across every exam domain.